Pumpkin Oatmeal White Chocolate Chip Cookies

There is a bakery in Indianapolis that has the best pumpkin oatmeal white chocolate chip cookies.  I tried to finagle the recipe out of them, but nothing doing.  So I decided to recreate them.  I found a similar recipe that calls for raisins and nuts (no thanks!) instead of white chocolate chips.  They turned out awesome.

We just moved from Indianapolis to Utah.  I decided a long time ago to stop waiting for neighbors to bring me treats when I move in somewhere.  When we moved to Indy I started the tradition of bringing cookies to our new neighbors instead of moping around waiting for them to bring some to us. (Let’s be honest, I’ve got plenty of extra baked goods lying around anyway!)

So I whipped up a double batch of these babies to give to our new friends sharing our walls.  We chatted with the cute just-married couple next door.  We met the lady upstairs and her teenage son who likes to play his drums on our living room ceiling.  And then we knocked on the last door.  It creeks open a sliver.  An eye peers out.  A man with boxers and no shirt on opens the door a little further to glare at us, the couple who has dared to knock on his door at 8:30pm.

After a very rushed and awkward conversation, we hurry back to our apartment.  I don’t know what it is with naked people answering their doors.  When we were in Indiana, we brought cookies to the guy next door.  He opened the door wearing nothing but a towel.  We all just stared at each other for this horrible moment, and then he says “I thought you were someone else.”  We practically threw the cookies at him and ran.

I hope you enjoy these cookies and don’t have to deal with any scantily clad men in the process!

Pumpkin Oatmeal White Chocolate Chip Cookies
Source: Allrecipes.com

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/3 cups quick or old-fashioned oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter or margarine, softened*
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups (12 oz) white chocolate chips

Beat butter and sugars in a mixer.  Add pumpkin, egg, and vanilla and mix well.  In a separate bowl combine flour, oats, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Slowly add to mixer.  Combine well, then add the white chocolate.  Drop the cookies onto a greased baking sheet using a cookie scoop (about 2 tablespoons per cookie).  Bake at 350 for 14-16 minutes.  Let them set up on the sheet for a few minutes before moving them onto a wire rack to cool.  Although I don’t know why you would want to wait for these to get cool before stuffing your face.

*If you have a stand mixer, you don’t need to soften your butter.  Let the almighty mixer beat it into submission for you.  Who has time for softening?  Never is there a time when I think to myself, “I want cookies, but I can definitely wait a half hour for my butter to soften before I start making them.” No way.  When I get a cookie craving, it’s all I can do not to eat the entire batch in dough form.

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Oatmeal White Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I think the guy with the towel’s name was Stan. My dad talked to him and he thought Stan was a nice guy. I hope he enjoyed the cookies…

    Great cookies btw! I love ’em!

  2. Eric G: I think your opinion is tainted . . . You would like anything the Food Charlatan would make . . . .

    Bogs looks yummy . . I will add it to my favorite food blog list!

  3. Best quote of the website: Never is there a time when I think to myself, “I want cookies, but I can definitely wait a half hour for my butter to soften before I start making them.” No way.
    Awesome.

  4. Pingback: Quick Lunch Wraps with Cream Cheese and Avocado | The Food Charlatan

Thanks for the comments, foodies!

