Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

I know, I know, another pumpkin recipe. Don’t worry, I’ll burn out soon.

See?  Even Charlotte is pumpkin-obsessed.  I feed it to her straight from the can.  (I constantly have leftover pumpkin in my fridge because most recipes don’t call for the whole can.) She loves it.

My friend Sarah texted me a few weeks ago to tell me about the most amazing pumpkin cheesecake that I had to try. I looked it up and realized that I made this recipe last year (and actually won a prize for it–although it was one of those prizes with so many specifications in the title that you’re pretty sure they were just trying to make you feel good about yourself.  Which it totally did.  See, here I am bragging about it on my blog.)

It’s good stuff.  Pretty much anything you smother with caramel, whipped cream, and buttery graham crackers is going to be delicious.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake
Source: My dear friend Sarah, who modified it from Allrecipes.com

3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened (you really do need to soften it otherwise you will have lumps.  Even the almighty mixer can’t beat this into submission. Believe me, I’ve tried.  You don’t want to over beat cheesecake though because it incorporates too much air and causes cracking when you bake it. longest side note ever.)
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup sour cream
2 eggs
1 graham cracker crust (this one is my favorite)
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 generous pinch ground cloves
1 generous pinch ground nutmeg
whipped cream
caramel sauce/topping*
additional graham cracker crust

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine cream cheese, sugar and vanilla. Beat until smooth. Fold in sour cream. Blend in eggs one at a time. Remove 1 cup of batter and spread into bottom of crust; set aside.

Add pumpkin, cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg to the remaining batter and stir gently until well blended. Carefully spread over the batter in the crust.

Bake in preheated oven for 35 to 40 minutes, or until center is almost set (Mine was in there a good 55 minutes, but I should have left it in longer). Allow to cool, then refrigerate for 3 hours or overnight. (Sarah put a note on this recipe here.  It says, “haha, yeah right.” I’m with you Sarah.  I barely left it in the freezer for an hour. Although I don’t recommend this if you are going for nice presentation…)  Serve with whipped cream, drizzle with caramel sauce, and sprinkle with additional graham cracker crust.

NOTE: This makes enough filling for a deep dish pie plate or a spring form pan.

*Here’s what I did for the caramel sauce.

1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons corn syrup
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
more butter (1-2 tablespoons?) and some milk

In a small saucepan over medium heat, melt butter. Stir in brown sugar, and corn syrup. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Boil without stirring 4 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in soda and vanilla.  Then stir in some butter and enough milk to get the consistency you want.  Refrigerates well, just nuke it when you want some.  I eat this stuff with a spoon.

7 thoughts on “Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Quick Lunch Wraps with Cream Cheese and Avocado | The Food Charlatan

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recipes and an Apple-Cider Brined Turkey with Savory Herb Gravy | The Food Charlatan

Thanks for the comments, foodies!

