Fire Roasted Tomato Soup

Can we talk about how much I love my immersion blender?  (wow, what a hook.  I’m sure you guys are all dying to continue.)  Seriously though, I never thought that day would come.  My immersion blender was an engagement gift from my mother.  It came in the mail a few days after Eric and I grudgingly decided to get married (I was still pretty weirded out by the whole idea.  Don’t worry, I have since repented.  Being married is fabulous!)

I opened the box, probably googled “immersion blender” since I had no idea what it was, and distinctly remember shoving it amongst the pile of shoes on the floor of my closet, lest anyone suspect I had received an engagement present (right).  I’m still completely baffled as to why Mom sent an immersion blender to celebrate my decision to get married.  These were my pre-kitchen days.

At BYU, my roommates and I had a system where each of us had one night a week to make dinner for everyone, and we would eat together when we could.  It was a pretty sweet deal, besides the fact that none of us were very good at cooking (except maybe Sarah) and all of us were on a budget.  I was definitely the worst though.  My disgusting concoctions have become the stuff of legends.  I never planned ahead, so an hour before we were supposed to eat I would go to Allrecipes.com and do an ingredient search for whatever I had on hand, which was usually something like yogurt, ground beef, chocolate chips, and apples.

One time I did a search for “quick cheap and easy” which resulted in what I believe was called “Quick Cheap and Easy Casserole” (I’m not kidding).  It included baked beans layered with chopped hot dog, covered with cornbread.  I think I threw some peas in last minute.  It was absolutely revolting.  It must have been bad enough to have gotten kicked off the site, because I can’t even find it anymore.

Immersion blenders are great because they help to avoid mishaps like this.

Photo courtesy of changeabletable.com

Thanks Mom!

This soup is a knock-off from the famous soup at my favorite bakery.  It is yummy and it makes a ton.  I was afraid it was going to overflow my stockpot.  I put the rest in ziplocks and stuck them in the freezer.  Easy meals for lazy days.

Fire Roasted Tomato Soup
Source: Slightly adapted from changeabletable.com

l large onion, diced
6 cloves garlic, minced
olive oil
2 (28 to 32 oz) cans diced tomatoes
32 oz bottle fire roasted tomatoes (I just used the canned kind)
2 (8 oz) cans tomato sauce
2 (6 oz) cans tomato paste
8 cups chicken broth (I used bullion)
2 teaspoons salt
pepper to taste
1 tablespoon crushed red pepper (omit or decrease if you don’t want it spicy)
2 cups milk or cream

In a large soup kettle, saute onion in olive oil until almost translucent. Add garlic and continue to saute for one minute. Add tomatoes, sauce, paste, and chicken broth. Bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat to simmer for 30 minutes. Puree in blender (or with an immersion blender!) until desired consistency.

Add milk or cream and seasonings, and continue to simmer for another 5 or 10 minutes.  Best served with grilled cheese sandwiches!

4 thoughts on “Fire Roasted Tomato Soup

  1. hahaha! i can’t remember why giving you an immersion blender seemed like a good idea, either! my thoughts are often convoluted… glad to see you put it to good use, anyway :)

  2. Hahahaha, I did the SAME thing with my emersion blender from a bridal shower! “What the heck is this thing, and when am I ever going to use it??” Now I love it! My how we learn.

Thanks for the comments, foodies!

