Buried Cherry Cookies

My brother Nathan would probably kill a man for these cookies.  Okay not really, he would probably only maim or injure, but the point is that anytime I want him to do anything I just have to make these cookies and it’s done.  I sound like a mafia boss. Don’t worry your children are safe.

I’m usually not into maraschino cherries, but my friend Sarah made these a couple years back and I fell in love.  I never would have picked out the recipe myself, which is why it’s good to have friends who bake.  What’s not to love about a dense chocolate cookie covered in chocolate glaze, plus a surprise in the middle?

I make these every year for Nathan’s birthday, which is coming up soon.  I’ve always felt bad for Nate because his birthday usually falls during finals week, when he has no time to relax.  (I don’t take shortcuts.  If my birthday was during finals week I never would have graduated. But Nate is a much harder worker than I am.)  So instead of being birthday cookies they usually end up being I need to jam 3 of these in my mouth right now because I have a test in 2 hours that I have not started studying for yet, a presentation tomorrow morning at 8am and a final project due the next day, details for which still need to be finalized with my group.  Again, I’m realizing that this probably never happened to Nate.

One time I made a big batch of these and joined Nate who was studying in the library.  We sat in the “sh zone” (as opposed to the “no sh zone”) and probably made just about everyone in the room want to sh us, but it’s BYU so they were too nice to say anything.  In appreciation, we offered cookies to the poor souls trying to study at the same table with us, laughing our butts off about nothing in particular and making a huge ruckus.  Everything is a lot more funny when you are supposed to be studying, but have really in your secret heart completely given up on the prospect.

I think Nate and I together (along with some new table friends) ate the entire batch, like over 50 cookies.  All this in a library that does not allow food.  I smuggled them in in my backpack. (BYU Police, I wasn’t the only one.  Taco Bell wrappers don’t breed in library trash cans.)

Happy birthday Nathan!

Buried Cherry Cookies
Source: Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook

1 10-ounce jar maraschino cherries (about 42)
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup (about half a can) sweetened condensed milk

Preheat oven to 350.  Drain cherries, reserving juice.  Halve any large cherries.  In a medium  mixing bowl beat butter with electric mixer (or with stand mixer) until fluffy.

Add the sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Beat until combined.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Beat in the cocoa powder and flour.

Shape dough into 1 inch balls.  Place balls about 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Press your thumb into the center of each ball.  Place a cherry in each center.

For frosting, in a small saucepan combine chocolate chips and sweetened condensed milk.  Cook and stir over low heat until chocolate melts.  (You can also do this in the microwave in 20 second intervals, making sure the chocolate doesn’t scorch.) Stir in 4-5 teaspoons of the reserved cherry juice. (Or as much as you want until it is the consistency you like).  Spoon 1 teaspoon frosting over each cherry, spreading to cover.  This can be tricky.  The best method I have found is to use 2 spoons, one for scooping chocolate, and the other for scraping it off the first spoon onto the cookie.

Bake about 10 minutes or until edges are firm.  Cool on cookie sheet 1 minute.  Transfer to wire rack and let cool.Look at this little thief!  Don’t worry I took it away before she actually had any.  I’m keeping the magic of sugar a secret a while longer yet.

8 thoughts on “Buried Cherry Cookies

  1. Oh my! I am with you on the cherries…not a fan. However, Pat loves them, so I think I will be baking a batch for him for his January birthday. I know he will love it! :)
    I could so picture the two of you laughing your heads off in the library!

    • If you don’t like cherries leave them out of a few when you make this. The cookies are still really good without them :)

      • agree with you except that the time we waste on Obots could somehow be used to hurry this situation along to its rightful resotulion. We can't because it's not in our power to do so. If it was, we'd already be finished with this crap. Until it's resolved, I totally understand those of you who choose not to engage the trolls. The same goes for bloggers who won't approve their comments. As for me, I find the flying monkeys to be useful receptacles into which to unload my anger at this situation and those who caused it. The idiots.

  2. you took a cookie out of the hands of that adorable little child? oh my gosh. action must be taken. [also, i can’t believe you got a picture AND got the cookie before she bit it!]

  3. Pingback: Oat Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies « The Food Charlatan

Thanks for the comments, foodies!

