Chocolate Chip Scones with Brown Sugar Icing

I would not describe myself as a fashionable person. I used to think that I was, because once or twice I made fashion-esque comments to my sisters and they thought I actually knew things as a result. My college roommate Sarah also thought I knew things because she was impressed that some of my clothes had secret ribbons (think American Eagle inner linings). Look they are even pretty on the inside! But the truth is that I have no idea what I’m doing.

This sometimes results in strange combinations. I get bored with the clothes that I have, am too cheap to buy new stuff, so I “make a new outfit” by combining things I already have. I should have realized this was a bad idea when a boy I knew in college stopped to chat with me on campus one day, and said he had recognized me across the quad because I always wear “interesting” clothes.

Eric’s sisters and mom are pretty much fashion divas. They help me out by giving me extreme compliments when I wear something right, (Karen, I actually like your shirt) and direct commands when I wear something wrong (Karen, don’t ever wear those pants again). It’s really been quite helpful.

I even progressed to buying my first pair of skinny jeans a few weeks ago. (See how I’m like 3 years late? How long have skinny jeans been in?) Charlotte is even ahead of me. She has been wearing skinny jeans for months. They are really just stretch pants that look like skinny jeans but they are adorable and I probably put her in them like 3 or 4 times a week because they go with everything.

I’m really pleased with my new skinny jeans and wear them all the time now. I guess I still need to work on diversifying my wardrobe though. A few days ago my 3 year old niece (whose favorite outfit, I might add, is a bright blue tutu over Halloween stretch pants), approached me pointing at mine and Charlotte’s matching skinny jeans: How come you guys are always wearing the same pants? Even the 3 year old knows a fake when she sees one.

I made these scones as treats for my book club, because we had read Pride and Prejudice and it was the only not disgusting British food I could think of. They were good, but still needed a little something something, so later I decided to add the brown sugar icing. Now they are deliciously Americanized. Yes please.

Chocolate Chip Scones with Brown Sugar Icing

Source: adapted from Allrecipes.com

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, frozen
1/2 cup sour cream
1 large egg
some chocolate chips (I didn’t measure, however much you want is fine, about a 1/3 or 1/2 cup maybe

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a food processor, place flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and pulse a couple times to mix. Cut the butter into tablespoon-ish size chunks, add to the food processor and pulse until the batter resembles coarse crumbs. (Don’t overdo it!)

Add the egg and sour cream and mix until the dough comes together but is still a little floury. Add some chocolate chips (or whatever mix-in you want, honestly) and pulse a couple times to combine.

Place on a lightly floured surface and pat into a 7- to 8-inch circle about 3/4-inch thick. Use a sharp knife or a pizza cutter to cut into 8 triangles, pie-like. Place on a cookie sheet (preferably lined with parchment paper), about 1 inch apart. Bake until golden, about 15 to 17 minutes. Cool on a rack. Drizzle with brown sugar frosting if you want, recipe below.

Icing:

1 1/2 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons milk
1 cup powdered sugar

In saucepan, heat butter and brown sugar over medium to med-high heat until bubbling and thick. Cool 10 minutes. Stir in milk. Add powdered sugar and beat until smooth.

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Scones with Brown Sugar Icing

  1. i think brown sugar icing would improve most food! how did you drizzle – just with a spoon, or did you pipe it on? my ‘drizzling’ usually ends up clumpy…

  2. Pingback: Raspberry Chipotle Glazed Ham « The Food Charlatan

Thanks for the comments, foodies!

