Raspberry Chipotle Glazed Ham

I was talking to my parents on the phone tonight, and told them that 13-month old Charlotte is learning all sorts of new tricks. My dad immediately inquired, Thermodynamics or vector calculus? Very funny, Dad.

Let me indulge in a little bragging though. Aside from mastering the concept of imaginary numbers last week, Charlotte has learned how to pat her head on command, as well as find her nose and belly button. She is one smart kid. It is crazy that she can actually understand the things we are saying.

It reminds me of an incident from a couple years ago. Eric and I were living in Indiana and had come to visit my sister and her family in Utah. Her 18 month old daughter, Mia, had not yet learned to speak, but could nod her head yes or no. It’s hard to gauge how much a kid can understand when they can’t talk. I assumed that she didn’t understand much at all and that her head shakes were completely random.

I tested this theory soon after. One day I was playing a song on the piano and the kids were all having a dance party. Even little Mia was shaking her hips. When the song was over, I looked at her and said:

Mia, did you like that song?
(Nods her head yes)
Do you like dancing?

(Affirmative nod)
You are too cute. Do you want to come to Indiana and live with me and Eric forever?
Her eyes widen in horror and fill with tears, and she thrusts herself on the ground in despair, wailing at the top of her lungs. Complete agony. Kids understand a lot more than we give them credit for.

This ham is da bomb. It is nice and sweet, just like an Easter ham should be, but has a little kick from the chipotle. I think the flavor is fabulous. I may never bother to make another ham recipe because I love this one so much. You can sub any kind of seedless preserves that you want, I’ve used both blackberry and plum. Happy almost Easter! (Come back on Wednesday for my awesome mashed potatoes that go perfectly with…anything. Including this ham.)

Raspberry Chipotle Glazed Ham

Source: Better Homes and Gardens

5 – 6 pound cooked ham (rump half or shank portion)
24 whole cloves (optional)
1 1/2 cups seedless raspberry preserves (I have successfully used both plum and blackberry)
2 tablespoons vinegar
2 or 3 canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, drained and chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced

Score ham by making diagonal cuts in a diamond pattern. If desired, stud ham with cloves. Place ham on a rack in a shallow roasting pan. Insert an oven-going meat thermometer into center of ham. The thermometer should not touch the bone. Bake in a 325 degree F oven for 1-1/2 to 2-1/4 hours or until thermometer registers 135 degrees F. (About 20-25 minutes per pound).

In a small saucepan combine raspberry preserves, vinegar, chipotle peppers and garlic. Cook and stir just until boiling. Reduce heat. Cook, uncovered, 10 minutes more. Makes 1-1/2 cups glaze. Brush ham with some of the glaze during the last 20 minutes of baking. Serve with remaining glaze. Makes 16 to 20 servings.

10 thoughts on “Raspberry Chipotle Glazed Ham

    • I’m with you, Snarkie. (Can I call you Snarkie?) Carnivore to the core. This stuff will not disappoint.

      • Of course you can call me Snarkie :)!

        Also, ham is one of the few meats I always want. I will go on phases where I don’t eat meat for months at a time. Inevitable, ham and cheese eggs will always draw me back in!

  1. Pingback: Balsamic-Browned Butter Asparagus « The Food Charlatan

  2. Pingback: Split Pea Soup with Smoked Gouda « The Food Charlatan

  3. I made this recipe almost 7 years before my husband and I got married for a Christmas eve family dinner. Needless to say,it’s the one page I lost in my cookbook! Thank you for having it!

  4. We made this for dinner tonight and Cody loved it! So did I! We each ate seconds and slathered (what a great word!) our ham with the sauce. Yumo.

  5. Pingback: Top 20 Recipes of 2012 | The Food Charlatan

Thanks for the comments, foodies!

