Balsamic-Browned Butter Asparagus

You guys have seen Sound of Music right? Who hasn’t. I watched that movie every single time I stayed home sick from school when I was a kid. Every. Single. Time. My logic was that the movie lasted 3 hours, so that takes up most of the day right? What kind of boring kid was I?

Or maybe this just reflects my pathetic math skills as a child. (And, okay, now too.) My oldest brother left on his 2-year mission when I was 8 years old and in the 3rd grade. I calculated that I would be in the 5th grade and 13 years old when he got back. I obviously was under this false impression long enough for it to be ingrained in my long-term memory.

Back to the Sound of Music. I turned it on the other day because I was folding laundry, and I don’t know about you, but if I don’t have some sort of entertainment when I am folding laundry I actually start to melt from boredom. But apparently 13-month-old Charlotte thought it wasn’t enough, because in the opening scenes of the movie when they are showing choirs of nuns singing moan-y hymns, she deliberately walked up to the stereo and started blasting Mysterious Ways by U2. Then she started head-banging.

This is the best asparagus I have ever tasted. I will admit that I have not always been an asparagus-lover; I am learning. But there was no learning necessary with this stuff. The browned butter flavor is not overpowered at all by the soy sauce. In fact, I couldn’t even taste the soy sauce. Just beautiful amazing balsamic-browned butter, as the title claims. Also, this recipe literally takes about 20 minutes start to finish, super quick. I made this on the same day I made my mashed potatoes. Try drizzling the extra asparagus sauce over the potatoes…amazing.

If you plan to make an epic Easter meal, I recommend this asparagus recipe, Raspberry Chipotle Glazed Ham, Mashed Potatoes, and these big fat buttery Crescent Rolls. It will be incredible and everybody will love you.

Happy Easter everyone! I hope you enjoy spending time with your family, and I especially hope you remember that Easter is about our Savior, Jesus Christ, whom I testify is indeed risen.

Balsamic-Browned Butter Asparagus

Source: Southern Living

Note: I only used one bunch of asparagus when I made this (which was a poor choice because we ate ALL of it and I definitely wanted more). For one bunch, I only halved the sauce; this was probably a little generous, but not if you are drizzling the rest over your mashed potatoes…yum.

4 pounds fresh asparagus
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon cracked black pepper
1/4 cup butter
4 teaspoons lite soy sauce
2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar

Snap off and discard tough ends of asparagus.

Arrange asparagus evenly on a lightly greased 15- x 10-inch jelly-roll pan. Drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with salt and pepper; toss to coat.

Bake asparagus at 400° for 15 minutes or just until tender.

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook, stirring occasionally, 4 minutes or until butter is lightly browned. (Go here if you have never browned butter before. I promise it is really easy.)  Remove from heat; stir in soy sauce and balsamic vinegar. Transfer asparagus to a serving plate. Drizzle sauce over asparagus, tossing to coat. Serve immediately.

10 thoughts on “Balsamic-Browned Butter Asparagus

  1. Pingback: Mashed Potatoes {from heaven} « The Food Charlatan

  2. This recipe has changed my life. And I never exaggerate. Asparagus is now the most delicious vegetable ever and one of the easiest to cook. It amazing right out of the oven, even before you do any of the browned butter business. It’s like 2 recipes in one!

    • I think I am going to try this sauce on some other vegetables I feel lukewarm about, (cough, green beans) and see if it makes them magical too.

  3. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recipes and an Apple-Cider Brined Turkey with Savory Herb Gravy | The Food Charlatan

  4. Pingback: Top 20 Recipes of 2012 | The Food Charlatan

  5. Pingback: Browned Butter Brownies | The Food Charlatan

  6. Alright, I made this for the first time last night and my husband who hates, hates, hates asparagus ended up eating half a pound of it. Then he went and ordered me the twenty-five asparagus plants I’ve been wanting. SUCCESS! Now I just have to figure out where exactly I’m going to put 25 asparagus crowns……

Thanks for the comments, foodies!

