Split Pea Soup with Smoked Gouda

My husband Eric’s birthday is coming up. At work they sent him a short get-to-know-you questionnaire so that they can read it at their next staff meeting. The last question was What is your favorite movie? Instead of naming one, he listed 16, complete with genre categories.* That’s what you get when you ask people like us about movies.

It got me thinking about some of my favorite movies, and of course my favorite quotes from them. Wanna hear some?



1. Han Solo: Keep your distance, Chewie, but don’t look like you’re trying to keep your distance. [Chewie barks a question] Han Solo: I don’t know. Fly casual! This is, of course, from Star Wars. I don’t even need to make an explanation for Han Solo’s awesomeness.

2. Chunk: Mikey, Mikey, this ain’t the kind of place you want to go to the bathroom in. Mama Fratelli: Why not? Chunk: Because they might have daddy longlegs and um… dead things, Mikey, DEAD THINGS! Goonies!! I was obsessed with this movie as a tween. What, you weren’t??

3. Miracle Max: Get back, witch.
Valerie: I’m not a witch, I’m your wife!

Vizinni: No more rhymes now, I mean it.
Fezzik: Anybody want a peanut?

These are from The Princess Bride, possibly the most quotable movie of all time.

4. I brought you flours. Harold Crick says this to Ana Pascal in Stranger Than Fiction when he brings her gourmet flours to bake with. My kind of man.

5. The kid is a L7 weenie. From the Sandlot. Yes please. (Do you want a s’more? Some more of what?)

6. I fart in your general direction. Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries! Monty Python and the Holy Grail. These are the kind of insults we throw at each other in my family.

7. Hey batta batta batta hey batta batta batta sa-WING batta! I shouldn’t even have to label this one: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. Of course!

8. Buzz! Your girlfriend! Woof! Kevin Mcallister on Home Alone. I will never get over this movie. It cracks me up.

9. Dionne: Hello? There was a stop sign. Cher: I totally paused. This is from Clueless. I think this to myself every time I roll through a stop sign, and imagine myself saying it to a cop as an excuse. But officer, I totally paused! 

Okay people. Your fav’s? I know you’ve got ’em!

But before that we have to examine this soup real quick. Don’t you have leftover ham in your fridge that no one is eating because all the potatoes are gone? This soup is the answer. You can’t really go wrong with Split Pea Soup, but adding little squares of smoked Gouda? It takes the regular stuff to a whole new level. I highly recommend making this soup using ham bone from this Raspberry Chipotle Glazed Ham, because the chipotle gives the soup a nice little kick. Have a gouda day! (har har)

Split Pea Soup with Smoked Gouda

Source: inspired by Allrecipes.com

2 cups (16 oz) dried split peas, rinsed and drained
8-9 cups liquid (I used half water, half chicken broth)
2 bay leaves
1 1/2 pounds ham, still on the bone, or 3 cups chopped ham
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 onions, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 stalks celery, chopped
3-4 medium carrots, chopped
salt and pepper to taste
6 ounces smoked Gouda, or however much looks good to you

In a large stock pot, cover peas with 4 cups of water and 4 cups of chicken broth. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer the peas for 2 minutes. Turn off the heat and let them soak for about 45 minutes.

Once peas are soaked, bring the liquid back to a boil and then reduce to medium heat. Add the bay leaves and the ham bone. You can either cut off most of the meat, chop it, and add to the pot at this point (what I did), or you can plop the whole thing in now and dice the meat later. If you choose to chop the meat first, you should still add the ham bone to the pot so you get all the flavor.

Heat the olive oil in a separate pan and saute onions for 3-4 minutes. Add the garlic, continue to sauté for 30 seconds. Add onions and garlic to the soup. Simmer on medium low for about 1 hour (until the peas are soft).

Add the celery and carrots, and continue to simmer for another 20-25 minutes, until the vegetables are just tender. Add the extra cup of water if your soup is looking too thick. Remove the ham bone (chop the meat and put it back in, if you haven’t already). Discard the bay leaves. Salt and pepper to taste. (Be conservative on the salt; ham is very salty already. I actually didn’t add any.)

Remove soup from heat. Dice the smoked Gouda into bite-size cubes. Add the cheese to the hot soup and stir. Alternatively, you can add the cheese to each individual bowl. Yum-o!

*Eric’s favorite movie:

Comedies: Groundhog Day. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.
Classics: Casablanca. It’s a Wonderful Life. The General.
Animated: Ratatouille. Wall-E. Spirited Away.
Epics: Star Wars. Lord of the Rings. Indiana Jones.
Action: Inception. The Matrix.
Others: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. Cast Away. The Truman Show.

9 thoughts on “Split Pea Soup with Smoked Gouda

  1. I love the Han Solo quote. The world would be a much better place if more people quoted Han Solo. (And that kiss scene with him and Princess Leia? I get tingly every. single. time.) My husband would agree with many of your husband’s movie selections. Our oldest daughter’s name is Trinity because the Matrix was what we saw on our first date. And our second. And our seventh.

    • Seriously. When I heard that the Notebook got the best kiss award I scoffed. They’ve got nothing on Han Solo and Princess Leia.

  2. While not technically it’s own movie, I love quoting most of the Star Wars gangsta rap.

    “Eh, I’ll give it a whirl” – obscure, but from Home Alone

    Two from Goonies: “Down here it’s our time. It’s our time down here!” and most of the scene when Chunk describes the movies/throw up fiasco – I’m not sure how to write throw up noises?

    “Muuutaaatiooon!” – Waterworld. Not a favorite movie, but definitely a favorite quote.

    Sandlot: “I’m baking like a toasted cheeser, it’s so HOT out here!”

    “I do not think that means what you think it means.” – Princess Bride

    These are quotes that are completely integrated into our regular vocabulary. I’d say Adam or I uses at least one of them on a weekly basis, if not more often. I know there are more we use regularly too, but can’t think of them all. Ahhh, movies. Bless your hearts.

  3. Laura, isn’t it amazing how often an opportunity to use the “our time” quote comes up?
    Karen, this soup was awesome. I was already planning on making split pea soup when I sat down at the computer yesterday. It was so fortuitous.

  4. Since Im now thinking about food and movies from While You Were Sleeping:
    “These mashed potatoes are so creamy”- Midge
    “it looks like he’s leaning” – Joe jr.

Thanks for the comments, foodies!

