Easy Berry Cobbler

We just got back from a trip to Glacier National Park with some of my family. It was super fun and absolutely gorgeous. We rented a cabin with a beautiful horse pasture next door and hiking trails in the hills behind us.

My brother and his wife stayed in the room directly above ours. One night Eric and I were sitting up in bed reading as we usually do, when we started to notice a noise. It sounded like it was coming from above. It was a low, rhythmic moaning sound…we exchanged glances and started giggling like kids, while at the same time trying to turn off our ears.

But just then Charlotte, who was sleeping in a pack n play in our room, rolled over in her sleep and stopped snoring. The sound stopped immediately. When the realization hit us we could not stop laughing. I guess Eric and I need to rein in our active imaginations.

I have to say this is the best “cheater” cobbler recipe I’ve ever tried. Eric and I stayed at a bed and breakfast a while back and they served this in the morning. I’d never heard of cobbler for breakfast but I was definitely not complaining. After I went back for thirds I finally decided to track down the cook, and she spouted the recipe off the top of her head.*

This is a great last minute recipe because you can easily keep all these ingredients on hand. That way you don’t have to run to the store if you want to make it. Because I’m all about planning ahead for my unplanned dessert cravings.

Easy Berry Cobbler


Source: Armstrong Mansion

1 pound frozen mixed berries
1 can blueberry pie filling
1 box yellow cake mix
1 stick of cold butter

Spray the edges of a 9×13 inch pan. Spread the frozen fruit in the pan. Pour the pie filling in and mix it around with the frozen fruit. Open the cake mix and sprinkle it over the fruit so that all of it is covered (this shouldn’t be hard, there will be a pretty thick layer).

Take your stick of butter and cut it into small pieces. Sprinkle the butter evenly over the cake mix; do not mix it in. (The dry parts of the cake mix are what make it cobbler-y.)

Bake at 350˚ for 40-50 minutes, or until the cobbler begins to turn golden on top. Serve with whipped cream or ice cream!

*The cook also mentioned that she also makes this with apple pie filling. I’m guessing 2 cans of apple pie filling. Then once it is baked she drizzles the whole thing with caramel ice cream topping. Yummmm.

2 thoughts on “Easy Berry Cobbler

  1. I lived with Amy and Brad a few years back in Rexburg and we had upstairs newlywed neighbors directly above my bedroom. Sometimes I could hear their squeaky mattress. Sadly the noise wasn’t coming from the sleeping little boy in the crib next to me, and it wasn’t very rhythmic…
    We make this but with cherry pie filling. Sometimes we make it in the dutch oven, too. It’s the best thing ever. I want to try it with the berries though, that sounds awesome.

  2. hahaha! funny little tricks our minds play… this cobbler looks great. having just come from bear country, with it’s $65 a gallon huckleberries, i’m appreciating the more mundane berries that grow in my own back yard even more, and will give this a try!

Thanks for the comments, foodies!

