One Hour Cinnamon Rolls

IMG_1031This one’s for you, Saturday morning. One hour cinnamon rolls. Seriously, I timed myself. I was stuffing my face with cinnamony goodness almost exactly one hour after I started. Sometimes I crave cinnamon rolls but then I’m like hm, can I wait 3 hours? No, I guess this spoonful of nutella will have to make do. (Sometimes it kinda scares me how much my body craves sugar. Good thing no one ever offered me heroin as a youngster, otherwise I’d be in the back of an alley somewhere. I’m joking. Kinda.)

IMG_0982

My mother-in-law Kris makes these cinnamon rolls whenever all of us come to visit for the holidays. She is one of those on-top-of-it kind of people who is up and dressed by 6 every morning. She is always busy rolling out delightful pastries while the rest of us are barely rolling out of bed. I feel guilty when I finally stumble bleary-eyed down the stairs and she is fully dressed, smiling perkily, breakfast all ready for us. When I tell her thank you, (huge bite of third roll) these are amazing (chug chug chug milk) she always says “It’s no big deal. It’s not hard.”

IMG_0995Kris actually says that a lot, and I’ve taken it to heart. Sometimes I start to complain about things in my head, usually about everyday things, like dishes (shudder), or wiping Charlotte up after she eats, or making the bed. And then I hear Kris, “It’s not hard! It’s easy!!” She’s like my own personal Richard Simmons for house work. And then I don’t feel so grumpy about the laundry I’m folding. Thanks Kris! Next time maybe you could dance around like Richard Simmons though, it might make me even more motivated.

IMG_1036

One Hour Cinnamon Rolls


Source: Marilyn Chapple, Jean McCray, and Sharon Hansen

1/3 cup sugar
3 tablespoons yeast
1/2 cup oil
1 1/4 cup warm water
2 beaten eggs
5 1/4 cups flour, sifted
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/4 cup melted butter
1 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon
1/2 cup granulated sugar or brown sugar, I used dark brown

2 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup hot water
1 tablespoon butter

In a large bowl, mix 1/3 cup sugar, yeast, and oil with warm water until dissolved. Cover and let stand in warm place for 15 minutes. I turned my oven on to warm (170˚), turned it off, then put the bowl inside and set the timer. Sift your flour while you wait.

Blend eggs into yeast mixture. Add salt to sifted flour, then gradually add to yeast mixture to make a very soft dough. Resist the urge to add more flour.

Knead dough for 5 minutes on lightly floured surface, or switch to the dough hook on your mixer and let a machine do the work. Roll dough into rectangular shape, about 1/4 inch thick.

Brush dough with melted butter. Combine cinnamon and sugar and sprinkle over dough.

Roll up dough and slice into 12. Place in a greased 9×13 pan. Let rest 10 minutes.

Bake at 425˚ for 12-17 minutes. You want them to be nice and brown on top–it’s easy to underbake this recipe.

IMG_0979You can see how brown mine were when I took them out, and I probably should have let them go another minute or two.

To make glaze, combine the hot water and butter with a whisk. Add the powdered sugar gradually, whisking as you go. If you’re butter isn’t getting incorporated, just stick it in the microwave for a few seconds. Drizzle over the hot rolls and serve immediately! And everyone will love you!

4 thoughts on “One Hour Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Wow, Karen! Thanks for all the nice comments! I only make stuff for you guys so you will love me – just as the end of your post says! I have an ulterior motive.
    By the way, will there be any of these available by the time we see you in a couple days? Just wondering . . . .

  2. I am so going to try this…have everything except the brown sugar. Thanks for the recipe, I could seriously gain 10 lbs just eating these things-I love cinammon rolls.

Thanks for the comments, foodies!

